What I’m into: June 2013

At the end of each month, a number of blogs I regularly read have end-of-month summary posts about what each blogger has been into that month.  As a way to meet one of my blogging goals for the year, I’ve decided to try out linking up to that monthly post.  This will work toward my goals of building an online network and participating in more blogging challenges.  I’m also including a button from the link-up, which contributes toward my goal of embracing more blogging gadgets and gizmos.

Books I read

Well, that’s nothing.  I finished Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down the Bones (I loved it!) and then, well. . . I read about 100 pages of the first Game of Thrones book.  I’ve been working non-stop (or so it seems) so in my free time I’m much more likely not to read something deep and moving.

Oh, and I tried Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek.  I just couldn’t get into it.  I love beautiful writing for about two pages but nature writing?  I need more action.

Television

Two shows this past month:  Hart of Dixie and Homeland.  Hart of Dixie is completely cliché and lame, but I still loved it.  I watched the first and second seasons in June and really liked how the season ended.  (P.S. Jason Street from Friday Night Lights is in Hart of Dixie, and he can walk.  It’s a miracle.)

We just finished the first season of Homeland tonight and honestly need to get the second season ASAP.  I love how messy and insane the plot lines are, but the hero/villain Brody?  He is so unattractive and I just cannot understand why Claire Danes would waste her career on his weird looking face.

On the Internet

I’ve been getting settled into my new Story group and following the regular blogs online.  I’ve been pretty busy at work and haven’t been writing as much here as I’d like, so I have a whole pile of things I saved for Five Things Fridays that I haven’t shared.  Here’s a few of my favorites:

Everything Else

Life is flying by, with the past month filled with long days at work and busy evenings and weekends filled with hanging out with friends, planning for our big move, and trying to handle so many tiny details when all I want to do is take a nap and go to happy hour. There is so much to do, but I can’t stop thinking about how in just a few short weeks we will no longer be a text message away from some of the best friends we’ve ever had.  It’s an exciting time, but also sad.

July is going to be completely insane:  I’ve taken on a little extra work to make up for lost furlough income [what was I thinking?!], my Story class kicks into gear beginning tomorrow, and by the end of this month we will have (a) found a new home, (b) cleaned, organized, and packed or sold all of our stuff, (c) taken care of all logistics including vehicles, insurance, banking and finances and bills, and ready to move to Chicago.  On August 2nd.

This post is part of the monthly What I’m Into link-up held at leighkramer.com.  To join, check out the instructions here.

What I am Into Photo

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I’m excited for the Story class. It’s going to be awesome.
    I remember the stress of a long distance move; best wishes and prayers. What part of Chicago? (If that’s not too nosy.) I’m in Willowbrook; so we’ll be “neighbors.” :)

    Reply
  2. love the blog!

    Reply
  3. Interesting idea for an end-of-month post! I usually will do a post on search terms that lead to my blog that month, but I like this idea as well!

    Reply
  4. You’re BUSY! Best wishes for the move.

    I’ve never heard of Writing Down the Bones. It sounds interesting.

    Reply
  5. If you don’t like the hero/villain Brody storyline, I wouldn’t get too excited for Homeland Season 2!
    P.S. I don’t really like his character, but how you can find Damian Lewis unattractive is beyond me! ;)

    Reply
  6. I really, really want to read Game of Thrones but I know it’s a commitment. I might just wait until he’s finished writing the series. Hope all goes well with your move! Transitions are such a weird time so be extra kind to yourself as you take leave and get settled.

    Thanks for linking up with What I’m Into!

    Reply

Have something to say? Add it here:

