Do endorphins make you sentimental?

I never believed people who said that “Running is fun” or the whole “Exercise gives you endorphins; endorphins make you happy, and happy people just don’t kill their husbands!” line of thinking. (50 points if you can cite that quote.) I assumed they were just perpetuating a myth, like when people say that birthing a child is beautiful but, when it is just you and a new mother, she tells you that is a bloody lie.

But, I have to admit, I’m starting to feel it. Please don’t think I enjoy running — lord have mercy it is so un-fun — but after today’s workout I’m feeling kind of, well, happy and awesome. I am feeling very confident in my routine and I haven’t fallen all over myself since that quite unfortunate iPhone dropping experience. Currently, I’m doing 20 minutes of mix-it-up cardio (random inclines and adding in jogging whenever I feel it or whenever someone I know walks by) and then upper body weightlifting, stability ball sit-ups, and some major stretching. It’s not intense, but it’s comfortably challenging and I’m excited to feel almost at home spending 45 minutes there twice a week.

After today’s workout, the metro exit was blocked off and I decided to walk up to the red line instead of walking around the building. It was a beautiful night. Every now and then I get sentimental, thinking This could be my last October 18th as a DC resident. Endorphins, right? I took a few [blurry iPhone] shots from my walk home to show you my beautiful city. How cool is it, living and working right here?

Pretty dang cool.

20121018-193521.jpg

20121018-193533.jpg

20121018-193540.jpg

20121018-193549.jpg

20121018-193556.jpg

Leave a comment

Have something to say? Add it here:

