How to cure a cold.

Well, I’m still only at about 75% (if that), but I am currently feeling awesome and I’m about to share a new-found home remedy for the cold that will not give:  slicing onions.

Seriously, onions are my hero [heroes?  heroines?].  I just finished chopping six beautiful sweet white onions for my first go at French Onion Soup, and whoa.  I think I cried away my cold.  Perhaps my eyes, nose, and throat are just so overwhelmed by onionyness that they can’t feel sick right now?  Even if this is a temporary fix, I am elated.  I feel awesome.  There is a 95% chance that this is a predominately drug-induced euphoria.

My onion healing magic reminds me of onion poultices, which were the key healant in my Little House on the Prairie/Christy-filled childhood.  Did anyone out there read books about old-timey life for, I don’t know, their entire childhood?  I think the lives of 10 or so fictional characters central to my identity as an 11-year-old may have been saved by onion poultices.  And certainly I was saved numerous times by them while traveling the Oregon Trail Now, I’m thinking that onions may be the cure for all things terrible.

Apparently, I am not the only one who feels this way.  Ehow.com even says they can cure UTIs.

In other news, I am currently trying my hand at mixing online recipes to create a simple French onion soup that is delicious but does not require me walking outside or going to the grocery store.  That means no beer, no brandy/cognac, no wine is involved…  Also, only dried herbs.  We’ll see how it goes.  It smells good.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Priceless Paintings from W7 » French Onion Soup

Have something to say? Add it here:

