First Workout of 2011

Today was my first day at the gym.  Well, not exactly the first ever but pretty darn close. 

Because of my resolution to pay more attention to my personal life and live more healthily, I went with my husband and joined . . . dum dum dum . . . the gym.  I’ve never once joined a gym in my life, and I found the joining process quite nerve-wracking. 

My husband came into the room and said “Let’s go join the gym,” to which I promptly had a crazy freak out:  I’m not ready!  My hair is a mess!  They’re going to think I’m lazy and fat!  I need more warning to prepare!  This is not okay! 

Husband did not quite know what to do.  He tried explaining that everyone starts somewhere and that no one can tell by looking that I’m not a runner, but I did not believe him.  I just knew that all of those “gym people” who were obviously so “fit and perfect” would know by looking that I did not belong. 

It was the next day before I was ready to walk down to the gym, and even then I was not comfortable at all and let Husband do most of the speaking.

Well, two days later I made my first journey to the gym, a whopping 177 Meters from our condo.  I walked in, scanned my ID card at the entrance, hung my jacket up and hit the treadmill.  I did 20 minutes of “cardio.” 

I meant to do the First Week of the Couch to 5K (C25k) plan, but I had a little problem — the podcast I planned to walk/run to stopped working during my workout.  So I did the best I could remember:  5 minute walk, 2 minute run, 5 minute walk, 2 minute run, 5 minute walk, cooldown.  It’s not exactly the Week One plan, but it worked for me. 

By the way, if you are starting to run for the first time like I am, you should definitely check out Robert Ullrey’s podcasts.  They are fantastic.  Once I figure out how to sync my Black Berry to my Computer, buy a USB connector and a media card, I will be listening to them while I run. 

Post-workout, I’m feeling pretty proud of myself.  In two days I transitioned from being afraid of the gym to using the gym. 

Things I learned today: 

  • There are wipes at the gym, and you wipe off the equipment after you use it;
  • No one really looks at you when you are working out, so basically you can go as fast or as slow as you want;
  • I need new socks and tennis shoes!  My current tennis shoes are from the tornado warehouse after the 2008 tornado at my school, and they are too big!  It’s time to update. 
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Roseanne and I are over-planners. « pinkbriefcase

Have something to say? Add it here:

