Five [Awesome] Things I Read This Week, 4.18.2014

Five 2

This Forbes Magazine article introducing a report by the coalition Americans For Tax Fairness that estimates the amount of government assistance awarded indirectly to Walmart.  Their theory is that Walmart is able to make high profits by keeping its employees’ incomes low, and that those employees are able to survive and continue working due to public benefits like food and housing assistance payments.  What makes this theory even weirder is that a huge portion of those food stamps benefits are then spent AT WALMART, thus forming somewhat of a double subsidy to the corporation.  Note: the math/methodology of this report isn’t a perfect science, but it is a quite interesting assessment.  Either way, definitely take a look.

This Festival of Faith and Writing wrap-up piece by my NEW FRIEND(!!!!!) Anne Bogel.  There were some other goods ones too!  Check out the hashtag #ffwGR to learn more about the festival.  I may post my own reflections here, but it’ll be next week which is a little un-timely so if you are interested now, the twitter hashtag is your friend.

This Inc. assessment of whether or not you genuinely love what you do.  I scored 13 out of 15, which means I am “deeply, madly in love with [my] work!”  That’s pretty cool, right?  What is your score?

Last week I read this article at the Harvard Business Review blog and I was like WHAT THE WHAT, if this ever happened to me I would probably quit my job. Basically, one of the CEOs of PepsiCo apparently calls the parents of her Millennial employees to tell those parents just how special and lovely their children are.  This week, my absolute favorite management blog was like WHAT THE HELL.  Thank goodness there are still reasonable people out there on the internet.  And please read the comments here, they are hilarious.  FYI: Your Millennial employees do not want you to call their parents to tell said parents that their children are special snowflakes.  Seriously, don’t.

And finally, for you guys who, like me, aren’t exactly sure what to do when everyone else starts clapping and/or crying in church this week, here’s a little something for you from Kristen Howerton at Rage Against the Minivan.

Okay, that’s five!  What awesome things did you read this week? 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I loved the Inc. assessment, and millennial bosses calling their parents??? I can’t even believe it. NOT OKAY. (I’m just cringing imagining a past or current boss calling up my mama.)

    Thanks for the mention! (I’m sooo glad we got to hang out at FFW!)

    Reply
    • RIGHT? I can’t believe that anyone would ever think that was okay. And I’m also kind of curious what my parents would say about this — I’m pretty sure they would be think it was a prank call and hang up.

      Reply
  2. sarahkerner

     /  April 19, 2014

    You got to meet Anne Bogel? She is totally one of my blog crushes. And WHAT? about businesses calling employees’ parents? What. The. Hell. I’m a jaded X-er but seriously… that’s just weird.

    Reply
    • It is SO weird. I still get the creeps thinking about it!

      Anne was at the festival of faith and writing! Which was awesome.

      Reply

Have something to say? Add it here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

