Five [Awesome] Things I Read This Week, 3.14.2014

Five 2

I have so many links I want to share this week — cutting this down to just five was more difficult than usual!  But I did it, because I am awesome.  And so are you — don’t forget it.

I have two favorite The Girls We Once Were posts that I want to share with you.  All of them are really quite fantastic (click here for more), but these are the two I read that really stuck with me:  

One.  Where were the boys? posted at Faith In Between.

Two.  Renaissance Girl, posted at CoffeeSnob318.

I know the names and details for these two women, and they are awesome and good-looking and all that jazz, but I’m not sure how anonymous these writing spaces are so we’ll let them determine whether or not to say their names online.  I won’t do that for them.  BUT, they are both pretty dang cool and funny and smart.  Take a look.

Three.  How to Watch Your Kid’s Game Without Being a Jerk.  I told you guys how I’m not a mom but I still often enjoy reading the blog Momastery.  I’m still not a mom (still, as in since I wrote the previous sentence one second ago? I’m leaving that awkward transition here for kicks and giggles all around), BUT I have baby sat a mildly disabled individual who loved soccer, and I found myself giggling with memories reading this post.  I also recommend asking your child what is appropriate for you to wear to view his or her game: as in, perhaps what you are currently wearing is not cool and or incredibly inappropriate.  But that’s coming from a twenty-something with no kids.

Four.  Ask A Manager with When a Coworker Missed a Deadline, I Told Her it was a Good Thing She’s Pretty.  People do the funniest, weirdest, most unprofessional things at work.  And it’s really funny, until it’s your boss saying something like that to you OR until it’s your job to address the behavior.  Here on this blog it is quite hilarious.

Five.  Man Beaten in the Street on a Beautiful Day, by Kate at Eat the Damn Cake.  There’s this tension between protecting others and protecting ourselves and this made me think.  She writes in the tension, without resolution, which opens the door for us as readers to consider what we think is right.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Nikki Ringenberg

     /  March 14, 2014

    I still haven’t read last week’s yet, but it’s saved, so maybe this weekend. I love 1-3. Four should be kidding, and it hurts my soul that he’s not, and wow #5. Kudos to everyone, you included who wrote about the girls that once were. I really enjoyed yours, and I think feedly ate my comment and I gave up, sorry.

    Hope your weekend grants you rest from your obscenely long Friday.

    Reply
    • Thanks Nikki!! Sometimes at work I encounter situations like #4 and I pretend I am Ask a Manager and I SHUT THEM DOWN. But in reality I politely change the subject. :)

      Reply

Have something to say? Add it here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 419 other followers

