no more waiting

A few years back I was speaking with someone I care about, and he was telling me about his ongoing job search.  He said he wasn’t really going out of his way to find a better job, but he’d be very happy if something good fell in his lap.  He just wasn’t the go-getter type, and was waiting for the right thing to come his way.

And I thought: “THAT IS CRAZY.  HOW CAN YOU EXPECT THE RIGHT THING TO JUST FALL INTO YOUR LAP? YOU HAVE TO TRY TO FIND A JOB, YOU HAVE TO NETWORK AND GO ON INFORMATIONAL INTERVIEWS AND VOLUNTEER STRATEGICALLY AND, oh here’s an important thing, ACTUALLY APPLY FOR A JOB in order to get a job offer.”

But I probably said something more like “Oh, well, I guess that could work too” and then changed the subject.  It’s hard to disagree with the people you love sometimes.

 * * *

These past few months I’ve been waiting for Chicago to feel like home and waiting for inspiration in my writing and waiting for some kind of clarity to appear in my career path, doing exactly what I very clearly believe (see above) is not going to get me where I want to be:  stalling my life until something good happens, without making much of an effort to find what I wanted.  And while the rest has been beneficial for me in so many ways, it’s time to stop letting the seconds tick by without action.  You can only let so many seconds slip through your fingers before years have passed, and I want every single one of my years to count.

So, I’ve chosen a word for 2014 that is going to shake things up.  People do this “choose-one-word” thing all over the internet, but I’ve never done it before.  Until now.  Because right now I really need focus, and energy, and drive, and I think that one big word to rule them all [all the resolutions, that is] will give me a head start on making this year awesome.

So here it is, y’all.  My word for 2014.

OneWordBig

I’m going to try a little harder, do a little more, and do those things more enthusiastically.  And when I see something I want to do, or somewhere I want to be, or some skill I want to develop I will think about it a little less and DO IT a little more.

So, what about you?  Are you setting resolutions for the year, or choosing one word, or both?  I’m probably doing both, but this is where I am right now.  If you’d like, share your resolutions/words in the comments here. 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Mary (A Merry Life)

     /  January 3, 2014

    Love your word. It’s definitely true that you have to go after the things you want. Most good things won’t just come to you!

    It was my first time picking a word too and I picked balance since I really need to figure that out this year. But I love your word too and need to apply that in a few aspects of my life.

    Reply
    • Thanks! I like that word – balance – it’s kind of the theme of this blog (if this blog had a theme, which in reality it usually doesn’t…). I’ve been following your updates and have a good feeling about you, Mary. A very good feeling. :)

      Reply
  2. I literally gasped when I scrolled down and saw it. What a word! What a powerful word! Unleashing that word in your life will be no small thing. Proud of you, friend.

    Reply
    • Thanks! It is so easy for me to lock up inside and just hide out, especially since it’s so cold in Chicago and we’re so far away from friends! I’m using it like a mini-pep talk whenever I catch myself putting on my jammies and turning on television as soon as I get home from work. It’s working so far.

      Reply
  1. The Haircut, Revealed | pink-briefcase

Have something to say? Add it here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 419 other followers

