Christopher Columbus, Dirty Socks, Mavis Beacon, and Food Photos

“It is important to say the names of who we are, the names of the places we have lived, and to write the details of our lives . . . . We have lived; our moments are important . . . . Our task is to say a holy yes to the real things of our life as they exist — the real truth of who we are:  several pounds overweight, the gray, cold street outside . . . We must become writers who accept things as they are, come to love the details, and step forward with a yes on our lips so that there can be no more noes in the world, noes that invalidate life and stop these details from continuing.” 

Natalie Goldberg, Writing Down the Bones:  Freeing the Writer
Within (1986), page 44.*

Life has been moving every day even though it feels like if we have to wait much longer for news we will turn to statues and have birds land on our noses and random kids leave dirty socks in our empty moats (Christopher Columbus, Union Station, real American tragedy).  To hold you over, I have pictures of some delicious food I have been making to excite your Monday evening.  Because, basically, since I can’t plan for the future or go apartment shopping or oh, I don’t know, tell my employer that i need a transfer to an actual city before the entire agency goes into budget lockdown, I cook.  A lot.

001

Smitten Kitchen Cookbook’s Plum-Poppyseed Muffins.  Actually, I made some pretty delicious mini-blueberry muffins for a work party last week as well.  I’m on a bit of a muffin kick — but I only like Smitten Kitchen’s muffins.  I HATE gross muffins, which is basically every other muffin I have ever made.

002 Red pepper, spinach, and feta frittata.  I invented this but mostly merged it together from the Smitten Kitchen cookbook and my Better Homes Plaid-front-cover best-cookbook-ever.  Also, I love frittatas.  So easy and they seem fancy when basically it is just a fat omelet that you put in the oven.

001Margherita pizza.  I always thought that this kind of pizza was B-O-R-I-N-G but it pretty much was the most delicious thing ever.  But mozzarella is kind of expensive to eat all in one recipe.

003 So I admit it, I did not make these.  But HOLY CRAP they are so delicious I could die.  In case you can’t read the description above (hello blurry iPhone photos!) and the name “espresso pillows” just doesn’t do it for you, these jelly-beans of mystery are actually bits of espresso, toffeed, and then dipped in dark chocolate.  And you get to eat 22 for just one serving that has fewer calories than a banana.  Seriously, buy them now.

004And last but not least, delicious fresh-out-of-the-oven meatballs (baked and half-turkey to save us from an early death by meatballs).  Recipe courtesy of me opening Ina Garten’s Family Style cookbook, ignoring all of Ina Garten’s instructions, and just mixing a lot of gross stuff together.

—–

*Note:  four “. . . . ” means a paragraph change occurred in the deleted text.  Three ” . . .” means same paragraph, but words/sentences deleted.

P.S. I’d also like to announce to you right here in this random and unexpected grammar section that I use two spaces after periods.  Because I am old school like Charles Dickens and E.B. White.  They seem like pretty cool renegades to hang out with.  So suck it, Chicago Manual of Style.  (But really I love you except for this one rule that I just cannot accept.  I blame Mavis Beacon typing classes.)

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I’d also like to announce to you right here in this random and unexpected grammar section that I use two spaces after periods.

    And now for a word about the virtues of the Oxford comma …. ;)

    Reply
  2. soooooo, here i sit in the backyard, wondering how things are going to work out for you. I know this is a hard waiting game for you to play. However, things will work out for the best, because that’s how God intends it to be.
    Love you.
    Miss you.

    Reply
    • Thanks. And ditto. :)

      I’m okay, but feeling pressure at work to declare and decide what is next. We will know soon enough and then have a whole other set of things to stress over. Ha.

      Reply
  3. Please come visit me and make me a frittata. That is all.

    Reply

Have something to say? Add it here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

