Wish-I-Were-Greek Tomato Orzo

Oh blog, how I have neglected you! To make up for lost time, here is a delicious recipe for orzo. This is a Greek-inspired tomato and cinnamon orzo that will seriously change your world. I eat this every time I go to my favorite Greek restaurant here in DC, Cava down at Eastern Market, and I have been trying to replicate the delicious tomato-ey cinnamon goodness for a few weeks. And this is my masterpiece, created with some empty-pantry substitutions and starting from this recipe on a vegan remake website.

Wish-I-Were-Greek Tomato Orzo:

This is how it should look about ten minutes into the cooking.

 

Ingredients:
One medium onion
One can diced tomatoes, no salt added
Water to increase liquid up to 3 1/2 cups
One cup of orzo pasta
Three cloves fresh garlic
Olive Oil to coat pan, plus an additional heavy drizzle
A palm-ful of salt
Black pepper to taste
An overflowing 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon
2 overflowing Tbsp. of organic tomato paste
A heavy sprinkling of cocoa — probably at least 1/2 Tbsp.
A light sprinkling of crushed red pepper flakes
Crumbled feta cheese, for topping

To cook the orzo:

Chop the onion pretty small and saute on medium heat in deep nonstick skillet for 5 minutes in olive oil.  Add in chopped garlic to soften for the last minute of cooking.

Meanwhile, drain the tomato liquids into your large liquid measuring cup.  Then, fill with water up to 3 1/2 cups.  Heat this liquid separately so it can go into the skillet hot.

Add the orzo to the skillet, and heavily drizzle with olive oil.  After about one minute, when the orzo looks golden but not brown, add in the liquid, cinnamon, canned tomatoes, and tomato paste.  Give the mixture a good stir and lower the heat to a simmer.

The orzo should cook, in total, for about 15-20 minutes.  Do not cover your pan at any point in this process.  Try to keep stirring to a good mix every three or four minutes — too much stirring can affect the consistency of the orzo.  After about ten minutes, I add in the salt and pepper (add more or less to taste).  When most of the liquid is absorbed, turn off the heat and add in the cocoa and the red pepper flakes.  Give a good stir and let sit for a few minutes while you prep your bowls/plates.

Isn't it beautiful?

Serve topped with crumbled (salty and delicious) feta cheese.  Delicious on its own or as a side to grilled meats or shrimp.  This makes a pretty big batch — four full servings or six to eight side dish servings.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. However, God changed his advice after the flood:” And God blessed them, and thus, we can find recipes from all over the place, but when I started on the paleo diet. I should mention there are other great sources of protein, and half of their calories from carbohydrate sources, especially grains, Nutrition Basics reports. Usually in the 10-25 move range.

    Reply
  2. each time i used to read smaller posts which also
    clear their motive, and that is also happening with this piece of
    writing which I am reading at this place.

    Reply
  3. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo
    News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

    Reply
  4. Hi, I do believe this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it ;
    ) I am going to revisit yet again since I bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to guide others.

    Reply
  5. I’m more than happy to find this great site. I wanted to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every little bit of it and I have you saved to fav to see new stuff in your web site.

    Reply
  6. Wonderful article! That is the type of information that should be shared across
    the net. Shame on Google for now not positioning this put up higher!
    Come on over and consult with my web site . Thank you =)

    Reply
  7. With the cheapest VPS plans that make the customer most satisfied to the best support they
    have all the qualities of a great hosting provider.

    When using this kind of service, you enjoy total control and superior performance
    since it allows you to choose an operating system and enables you
    to install software applications. Here is what Tissa will
    do for you if you qualify as a Super sponsor.

    Reply
  8. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

    Reply
  9. Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of the issues.

    It was definitely informative. Your website is very useful.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  10. Learning to portion correctly can save you from over loading your calorie intake for the day massively.
    Next set the timer for the number of minutes that you want.
    This means that a symptom is curable by a substance that causes
    that symptom.

    Reply
  11. Hey! Quick question that’s entirely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this problem.

    If you have any recommendations, please share.
    With thanks!

    Reply
  12. Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the
    challenges. It was definitely informative. Your site is very helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  13. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter
    to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking
    forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

    Reply
  14. I do consider all the ideas you’ve introduced
    for your post. They’re really convincing and will definitely work.

    Still, the posts are very short for newbies. May just you please extend them a bit
    from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

    Reply
  15. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I do think that you ought to write more about this subject, it may
    not be a taboo subject but typically folks don’t talk about these issues.
    To the next! Many thanks!!

    Reply
  16. Appreciation to my father who informed me on the topic of this website, this webpage is actually remarkable.

    Reply
  17. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could
    i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me
    a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright
    clear concept

    Reply
  1. $10 for $20 Worth of Italian Eats and Drinks from Sammy’s Cucina in Brownstown | KomiDaily
  2. $10 for $20 Worth of Italian Eats and Drinks from Sammy’s Cucina in Brownstown - Koream Deals
  3. Breaking the Mold | pinkbriefcase

Have something to say? Add it here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 419 other followers

